Gap

Procrastination is my name. Instead of sticking to the plan not to make the blog a task, thereby sustaining its rhythm in the thicket of a burgeoning programme, I have fallen off the wagon, and am making copious excuses not to write. I’m still walking Blue, have not had one day off since last November, so that resolution is in the swing. Time issues abound, of course, but there always seems to be the odd hour to snuffle for truffles on the Internet, so it’s a thinly-veiled, frankly shoddy excuse. Another thing about using procrastination as an alibi is that it’s akin to hiding behind your finger: not very successful (since the curvy bits will stick out), and one that you could live off very comfortably, while not writing. So, that explains the gap, a gap of rich sightings and ideas that have now gone down the shoot because they weren’t freshly recorded.

Blue has been exhibiting some strange behaviour these last two days, and I just cottoned on to its full meaning half way through today’s walk. Instead of pulling the lead taut in front of me, she’s been lurking around my heels. At first I thought she was tired. Some days, I feel less chipper than others. When I asked her, mentally-disturbed style, what she was up to, she kept giving me these squint-eyed, salacious, side-ways glances, that put me in mind of the artist’s impression of Big Bad Wolf in the Ladybird series. Then it occurred: I was being stalked. I stopped in front of her, and my suspicions were instantly proven. Her forelegs curled off the ground, ready to lock around my leg, but I thwarted the full-lock hump by stepping back and slapping her muzzle. It made me think of the power of hormones, the body’s tireless messengers that effect nigh on everything. The word hormone comes from the ancient Greek hormon, and means to set in motion, to urge on. Even though everything in Blue’s cowering, learned-behaviour mode was saying no, don’t do it, her hormone-driven side was full-throttle. She’s three months off being in heat again, so it may be that she’s entering a midlife phase. The formula is: 10.5 dog years per human year for the first 2 years, then 4 dog years per human year for each year after, which puts Blue at the equivalent of 40 human years.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

